Review: MAC Impassioned and Reel Sexy

MAC’s amplified range is the brand’s middle ground for lipstick – if you want the color pay-off and lasting power of a matte, along with the subtle sheen and light formula of a cremesheen or lustre, then this is the range for you.

It’s also home to some of MAC’s most eye-popping shades, from Girl About Town and Morange, to Violetta and Up the Amp.

MAC Impassioned and Reel Sexy are two of my favorites from the range. They brighten up the face without being too flashy or dramatic.

Impassioned is described as an “amped-up fuchsia”. I’d call it a watermelon shade that’s perfect for the summer. It’s a sassy, vibrant color, and I imagine this looking great with a winged eye.

img_20161016_163201

Reel Sexy was part of the Reel Sexy collection that was released sometime in 2012/2013. The website calls it a “bright coral”, which is spot-on for me.  I wear this when I want to wear a light, fun shade that isn’t too attention-grabbing.

img_20161016_163145

Here are some swatches, in natural lighting. For reference, I’m NC 40-42.

001

That’s one swipe each. The color pay-off is pretty good, and Impassioned is fairly opaque.

Impassioned lasts about 4-5 hours. It performs really well – while not hydrating like a lustre or cremesheen, it’s easier on the lips than matte or satin lip products. It doesn’t settle into the creases of my lips, and I don’t need to keep looking in the mirror to see if it’s bleeding or migrating.

Reel Sexy lasts about 3-4 hours. It comes on patchy and takes some work to apply – I don’t use lip brush, so I just dab the product with my index finger to get it to even out. It emphasizes the creases on my lips, and I either wear gloss over it or wipe it off altogether to remedy the situation.

Go for these colors when you’re feeling fun and flirty. Impassioned will stay put but Reel Sexy will require some maintenance.

3 thoughts on “Review: MAC Impassioned and Reel Sexy

Leave a Reply

