Review: MAC Cyber and Gunner

Deep purples may not be considered a must-have the way reds or nudes are, but it’s a staple in my collection. In fact, I have three at the moment, and I’ve had to stop myself from adding to that number when MAC Trolls came out recently. I think deep purple lipstick brings a kind of danger and edginess that red, plum, or even black lipstick can’t replicate.

Enter MAC Cyber and Gunner. Cyber isn’t exactly a deep purple shade – it’s more of an eggplant shade with a satin finish, but for me it comes close enough. Gunner, which first came out under #GirlBoss Sophia Amoruso’s Nasty Gal collaboration with MAC, fits the bill perfectly. I was overjoyed when they made it a permanent shade – I didn’t stand a chance against all the girls (and boys) who either pre-ordered the color or queued up at the MAC counters here the moment the collection dropped.

img_20160911_143446

Cyber is a beautiful color, and it looks dramatic on my dark NC 40 skin, but it can be difficult to apply. It goes on patchy and uneven, and it emphasizes the lines on my lips. It also leaves a blotchy stain after a few hours, which means I need to keep an eye on it and re-apply as needed. I got NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Black Berry to pair this with, but I’ve yet to use them together.

I bought Cyber because I thought it would be a good dupe for Yung Rapunxel, a limited edition color that MAC released with Azealia Banks. I never got to try that one, and so can’t make a detailed comparison, but judging by photos alone the colors look similar enough.

Gunner is my favorite of the two – it has a hint of blue when I wear it. The matte finish also works better for me. It applies evenly, and the formula is easier to work with. It also lasts a long time, about 4-5 hours.

Here are some swatches, under natural lighting. Cyber on top and Gunner at the bottom.

img_20160911_143318

I find myself reaching for Gunner more often than Cyber just because it’s easier to apply and wear. Either way, deep purple lips are always an attention-grabber. People never fail to comment, and if you’re tired of the usual red or plum lips, try deep purple for a vampy but classy look.

 

Leave a Reply

